Internet Compliance Assessment Program (iCAP)

What is iCAP?

 A US accreditation for best practice in player protection in online gambling, backed by the expertise of the National Council on Problem Gambling.

It’s based on the Internet Responsible Gambling Standards devised by a panel of gambling harm prevention experts from around the world. First developed in 2012, and updated several times including in 2021 to keep up with new regulations and technology, these standards have driven responsible gambling regulation in a number of states as online gambling has developed in the US.

The standards are regularly updated to ensure the latest best practice in preventing gambling harm is included.

The iCAP accreditation consists of

  • A framework of required evidence across your player protection processes and tools, together with a review of your responsible gambling policies and training.
  • An audit of this evidence by an independent specialist responsible gambling consultancy:
  • An assessment of overall compliance by the NCPG team.

Its focus is on consumer protection: making sure everything is in place to help ensure that all your customers, from the time they join, are able to gamble in safety.

What are the benefits of accreditation?

The standard gives your customers the reassurance that you not only provide a wide range of tools and services to keep them safe when gambling, but that these are audited on a regular basis to make sure that they are all working as they should.

In addition, the process:
– provides reassurance to your shareholders and regulators that the potential for harm is being addressed and minimised.

– provides reassurance to your staff that their employer is committed to safer gambling and that the work they do is not contributing to harming vulnerable populations.

The process also provides the opportunity for staff across the business to benefit from the advice and input of an independent expert in harm prevention.

“This was an absolute game changer when we were setting up our program –iCAP very clearly laid out what the elements of a highly responsible platform would look like, and basically gave us the road map to use moving forward.”

-Chip Polston, Senior Vice President, Communications, Public Relations and Social Responsibility for Kentucky Lottery Corporation

“This certification is testimony of our commitment to ensure that we are providing iLottery players with responsible gaming tools they need to manage their play responsibly.”

Drew Svitko, Executive Director for Pennsylvania Lottery 

Who can apply?

Any gambling operator who is licensed or regulated in a US jurisdiction.

We assess each specific instance of an operator’s website or app in a US state.

How long does it last?

Accreditation lasts for 2 years.

As of October 2022, the following organizations have earned the iCAP certificate:

  • Georgia Lottery (November 2022 – October 2024)
  • Jackpocket, Inc. (October 2022 – October 2024)
  • (October 2022 – October 2024)
  • Kentucky Lottery (April 2022 – April 2024)
  • (August 2021 – August 2023)
  • Michigan Lottery (October 2022 – October 2024)
  • Pennsylvania Lottery (May 2022 – May 2024)

For more information or to apply please contact: Amanda Quintana at